Delhi Civic Body Receives 3 Nominations For Mayor Post

The nominees are — Shelly Oberoi and Ashu Thakur (both from AAP), and Rekha Gupta (from BJP).

New Delhi:

Three nominations — two from the AAP and one from the BJP — have been received for the post of Delhi mayor ahead of the mayoral election to be held on January 6, MCD officials said on Tuesday.

However, one candidate of the AAP is a back-up candidate, they said.

The last date to file nominations for the posts of mayor, deputy mayor and six members of the standing committee of the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) was December 27.

Three nominations each have been received for the posts of mayor and deputy mayor, and seven nominations for the members of the MCD panel, the civic body said.

The nominees for the post of mayor are — Shelly Oberoi and Ashu Thakur (both from AAP), and Rekha Gupta (from BJP).

The nominees for the post of deputy mayor are — Aaley Mohammad Iqbal and Jalaj Kumar (from AAP), and Kamal Bagri (from BJP).

AAP’s candidates for mayor and deputy mayor — Shelly Oberoi and Aaley Mohammad Iqbal — had filed their nominations on Monday. The party’s backup candidates — Thakur and Kumar — for the two posts had filed their nominations on Tuesday, party sources said.

Earlier in the day, the BJP declared Shalimar Bagh councillor Rekha Gupta as its mayoral candidate to challenge AAP’s Oberoi in the January 6 election.

Among the seven nominations for the members of the standing committee — four are from the AAP, two from the BJP, and one Independent councillor Gajender Singh Daral, who later joined the BJP.

The list of nominations shared by the MCD in a statement, however, referred to Mr Daral as an “Independent” nominee.

Aamil Malik of Karawal Nagar ward, Raminder Kaur from Harinagar ward, Mohini Jeenwal of Seemapuri ward and Sarika Chaudhary of Jangpura ward — all from the AAP — had also filed their nominations for the standing committee’s member on Monday.

From BJP, Kamaljeet Sehrawat from Dwarka-B ward and Pankaj Luthra from Jhilmil ward have been nominated for the post of MCD panel’s members.

Mr Sehrawat has served as mayor of the erstwhile South Delhi Municipal Corporation.

All the party candidates filed nominations for the election after their names were announced by the Delhi BJP.

Three Independent candidates, including two women, had emerged victorious in the MCD polls held on December 4.

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) won the elections with 134 seats and the BJP bagged 104 seats in the 250-member civic body.

Mundka councillor Mr Daral joined the BJP in the presence of the party’s Delhi unit working president Virendra Sachdeva and its former chief Vijender Gupta. Welcoming Mr Daral into the party fold, Mr Sachdeva on Monday said his joining the BJP will strengthen the party.

With Mr Daral joining the BJP, the party’s strength in the MCD has risen to 105.

The election of mayor is held through a secret ballot and councillors are free to vote for any candidate since the anti-defection law does not apply to it.

The voters for the election of mayor are 250 councillors, seven Lok Sabha and three Rajya Sabha MPs from Delhi and 14 MLAs nominated by the Legislative Assembly.

The Delhi Assembly Speaker has nominated 13 AAP and one BJP MLAs to the MCD.

The total votes for mayoral election are 274. The number game favours AAP having 150 votes against 113 of the BJP.

The Congress has nine councillors while two others are independents in the MCD House.

There are 18 members in the standing committee of the MCD, of which 12 are elected from the zones and six from the House.

The post of mayor is considered prestigious and a Delhi mayor wielded a lot of power until the erstwhile unified MCD, set up in 1958, was trifurcated into North Delhi, South Delhi and East Delhi municipal corporations in 2012 with a mayor each for three civic bodies. The civic bodies were reunified in May 2022.

The post of Delhi mayor sees five single-year terms on a rotation basis, with the first year being reserved for women, the second for open category, third for reserved category, and the remaining two also being in the open category. 

(Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by NDTV staff and is published from a syndicated feed.)

Featured Video Of The Day

“Blizzard Of The Century” Kills Nearly 50 Across US

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *